top of page
  • James G Triathlon

5 Reasons People Don't Do Triathlon - BUSTED!



This photo popped up on Facebook memories recently, it caught me by surprise and I really couldn't believe it had been 4 years since I completed my first triathlon! Wow, time flies eh!?


Before my first triathlon, I had joined lots of cycling events, duathlons and half-marathons but had always avoided triathlon.


I cast my mind back and picked out 5 reasons (or excuses!) about why I'd never done a triathlon.


5 common reasons why people don't do triathlon are that you think you won't be able to run after doing a bike or swim, you don't have enough time to train for 3 sports, it is too expensive to buy the equipment, you're not a strong swimmer and you're not super fit.


Let's take a look at these and I'll try to bust some triathlon myths, which hopefully can persuade you to get signed up for and finish YOUR first triathlon!


#1 I Can't Run After Swimming & Cycling

Running after swimming and biking is tough, but like anything in life, the more you practice the easier it becomes.


A common workout for triathletes is a called a BRICK WORKOUT. This is a workout which combines 2 activities one after the other. Most commonly it's a bike ride immediately followed by a run, although you could also do a run after a swim.


A good start would be 3 sets of 5 min bike + 2 min runs. The distances don't have to be huge. What you're looking for is to replicate the feeling of your legs being tired and then having to use them for running.


A race day tip is to start off real slow in the run and allow some time for the blood to return to your legs. It can take up to 1-2km for the normal running feeling to return, so don't panic and try to get into a smooth rhythm.


#2 I'm Not a Strong Swimmer

I've never really been a water sports type of guy and always prefer terra firma!


The swim is the shortest and first part of the race meaning you will be at your freshest.


Don't worry if you can't do front crawl for the whole swim. I've seen people doing breaststroke in lots of races, and if your swimming in a pool you can even stand up for a few seconds to get your breath back and relax a little bit.


2 months before my first triathlon I didn't know how to breathe properly and felt exhausted after swimming just 25m!


Watch some YouTube videos, try to do 1-2 swims per week and you'll start to see some progress.


The most important thing I learnt was to relax, find a good rhythm and don't swim too fast!


If you're racing in open water, move to the side of the pack so that you have a bit more space and can swim at your own pace.


#3 I Don't Have Time To Train

We have jobs, families and lots of other things that take up our time, so how can we possibly fit in a 2-hour bike ride!


Focus on quality and not quantity.


If you have a solid base fitness, then adding in some high intensity interval training (HIIT) workouts can be a great cardio booster. Doing 3 HIIT workouts in one week is considered to be the maximum, to avoid overtraining and giving your body time to recover and adapt.


Plan out your week and aim to get into a weekly habit with similar workouts on the same days each week.


Shorter and intense workouts before work, and longer workouts on your days off. Having a training partner or someone to race with can help as well.



#4 Triathlon Equipment is Too Expensive

Triathlon can be expensive, but it doesn’t need to be for your first couple of races.


Invest in the important stuff: properly fitting running shoes, goggles that don’t leak, decent-fitting tri shorts or suit and a good helmet.


Borrow or rent the rest until you’re completely committed to the sport. Look for local races to cut down on the cost of travel.


For my first triathlon I used my hybrid bike and wore my running shoes on the bike as well. I bought a pair of triathlon specific shorts and wore my usual running t-shirt.


#5 I'm Not Super Fit

Triathlon is for everyone, all shapes and sizes and not all triathlons are created equally.


There are different distances of race to choose from depending on your fitness level and realistically how much time you can commit to training. Don't sign up for an Ironman 70.3 if you only have 3-4 hours to train each week!


Set some realistic goals and ease yourself into the training. Don’t go too hard too soon or you’ll either get burned out or injured.


A sprint distance race is a great way to start and you can build up from there.



Final Thoughts

Maybe some of you guys are interested in doing a triathlon and have thought about some of these things before.


If so, I hope this post helps answer some questions and you’ll be more confident about getting involved in your first triathlon!



4 views0 comments

Comments


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page